Vegetarian vs Vegan – What is the difference?
– and how many types of vegetarianism exist
Although the plant lifestyle became popular lately, many of us still have doubts about what is the fundamental distinction in vegan and vegetarian diets. In this post, we would like to dispel all the uncertainties.
The core difference between these two is pretty simple. Remember: vegans do not eat each food which comes from animals at all! It means they avoid all dairy products, eggs and even honey. While vegetarians refuse to eat only meat and fish, but there are some exceptions and varieties of this diet. People ordinarily follow this movement due to ethic or religious beliefs, diverse health matters and restrictions.
Vegetarians are usually divided into four groups: Lacto, Ovo, Lacto-Ovo and Pescetarians.
The first variation is about those who eat dairy products but get away from eggs, poultry, seafood and meat. In turn, Ovo-vegetarians eat only eggs among animal origin products but reject all foods which contain milk. Lacto-Ovo group is the most popular and extensive because of its fewer restriction. Representatives of this movement allow themselves both eggs and milk products and avoid only all varieties of meat & fish itself. And the last group is, in fact, semi-vegetarian, as those individuals choose fish and seafood in addition to all dairy products and eggs. To summarise, they deny only meat consumption.